Plaza of the Martyrs

Called Villaroel Park in colonial times, it is home to the famous obelisk representing the provinces of Quesada, altered by the names of the six Ziparquiran martyrs executed on August 3rd, 1816 (city holiday): Austin Zapata, José Maria Riaño Cortés, Luis Sarache, José Luis Gómez, Juan Nepomuceno Quiguarana and Francisco Zarate.